The women (and men) know what they’re talking about!

27 Aug

I’m watching Hillary’s speech at the DNC and thought I’d post some solid pro-femme quotes…’cause nothing’s better than reiterating truth. 🙂

Sylvia Plath:
I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart. I am. I am. I am.

Susan B. Anthony:
The fact is, women are in chains, and their servitude is all the more debasing because they do not realize it.

Hillary Clinton:
I have met thousands and thousands of pro-choice men and women. I have never met anyone who is pro-abortion. Being pro-choice is not being pro-abortion. Being pro-choice is trusting the individual to make the right decision for herself and her family, and not entrusting that decision to anyone wearing the authority of government in any regard.

Virginia Woolf:
The history of men’s opposition to women’s emancipation is more interesting perhaps than the story of that emancipation itself.

Sojourner Truth:
If the first woman God ever made was strong enough to turn the world upside down all alone, these women together ought to be able to turn it back, and get it right side up again! And now they is asking to do it, the men better let them.

Margaret Sanger:
Woman must not accept; she must challenge. She must not be awed by that which has been built up around her; she must reverence that woman in her which struggles for expression.

Ayn Rand:
The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.

Camille Paglia:
We cannot have a world where everyone is a victim. “I’m this way because my father made me this way. I’m this way because my husband made me this way.” Yes, we are indeed formed by tramas that happen to us. But you must take charge, you must take over, you are responsible.

Andrea Dworkin:
Woman is not born: she is made. In the making, her humanity is destroyed. She becomes symbol of this, symbol of that: mother of the earth, slut of the universe; but she never becomes herself because it is forbidden for her to do so.

Ursula LeGuin:
We are volcanoes. When we women offer our experience as our truth, as human truth, all the maps change. There are new mountains.

Florynce Kennedy:
You’ve got to rattle your cage door. You’ve got to let them know that you’re in there, and that you want out. Make noise. Cause trouble. You may not win right away, but you’ll sure have a lot more fun.

Margaret Sanger:
No woman can call herself free who does not own and control her body. No woman can call herself free until she can choose consciously whether she will or will not be a mother.

And my personal favorite tonight:

Hillary:
Eleanor Roosevelt understood that every one of us every day has choices to make about the kind of person we are and what we wish to become. You can decide to be someone who brings people together, or you can fall prey to those who wish to divide us. You can be someone who educates yourself, or you can believe that being negative is clever and being cynical is fashionable. You have a choice.

Check out what other women have said!

Leave a Reply

