I stand with Planned Parenthood

25 Feb

I stand with Planned Parenthood because they were one of the first organizations that had absolutely zero judgment about a poor female student in her early 20s who wanted birth control, who didn’t have a steady boyfriend but wanted to be cautious, who wanted to explore her sexuality without worrying about pregnancy issues. A couple of years down the road, the nurse asked if I wanted any Plan B pills (which can cost anywhere between $30-60 for one pack) when I picked up my birth control pills and she didn’t blink when I decided it would be smart to have some on hand and said yes.

I have always been treated with the utmost respect at Planned Parenthood, and it is obvious that it’s because they trust me as a woman to know what is best for me reproductively. I know that if I ever became pregnant and didn’t want to continue with the pregnancy, they would offer a safe, judge-free option. I know that if I never become pregnant, they offer that space to other women. I know that beyond abortion rights, they offer free or inexpensive birth control and education to allow women to make smart choices about their bodies.

I stand with Planned Parenthood because they believe in women.

One Response to “I stand with Planned Parenthood”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fair and Feminist » Blog Carnival Update 1 - February 25, 2011

    […] See Jane Run…The Show we get another testimonial of someone who was helped by Planned Parenthood: “I stand with […]

Leave a Reply

