Lovers/Haters: Kansas and Senate

11 Mar

Per usual, there has been more hate than love for women going around lately – here’s the tops for this week.

There has been a lot of hate going on lately, especially surrounding abortion. Here’s one that I thought was particularly ridiculous:

Haters: Kansas

Kansas “Mega Bill” Would Deny Non-Profit Status to Abortion Providers

On National Day of Appreciation for Abortion Providers, no less. Seriously? Anti-choicers, can’t you just go away?? That’s just ridiculous. You look at one thing that you don’t agree with and so obviously the entire organization must be punished. Planned Parenthood provides some abortions – well, that means that their years of providing low-income women with pap smears, birth control, and education is a waste! Sinners! A nonprofit hospital provides an abortion – forget about their life-saving surgeries and years of caring for sick! Hellfire for them!

Shut up. Seriously, just shut up.

Thankfully (yes, I saved the better for last)…

Lovers: U.S. Senate

Senate Blocks Anti-Choice Push; States Keep It Up

I’m not going to lie – I was a teensy bit worried that the Senate wouldn’t come through on this for us. I thought they would, but the fear was there. I don’t think I need to say what could have happened if the bill had passed. I’ll let Nancy Keenan of NARAL speak for me:

“We commend fair-minded senators for rejecting the anti-choice House leadership’s efforts to defund Planned Parenthood and dismantle the nation’s family-planning centers,” said Nancy Keenan, president of the Washington-based NARAL Pro-Choice America, in a press statement following news of the vote.

We do, too! Thank you, Senate!!

Anti-choice legislation is still being pushed in many, many states. And let’s not forget that the budget STILL hasn’t been settled, so funds could still be eliminated. Our work is certainly not done. Let’s make sure that we continue to support women!

7 Responses to “Lovers/Haters: Kansas and Senate”

  1. marriagecoach1 March 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I applaud the bill to defund Planned Parenthood. Abortion is a multi billion dollar industry for them. I don’t see Planned Parenthood doing pro bono abortions for low income women even though they cluster their clinics in black neighborhoods and continue the eugenics movement from the Third Reich era.

    John Wilder

    • Cass March 14, 2011 at 6:40 am #

      Actually, John, Planned Parenthood does not spend its federal funding on abortion. Rather, it spends that money on providing smart and affordable choices for women such as birth control and reproductive health. Planned Parenthood uses donations to fund the abortion (and much smaller) part of their business.

      • marriagecoach1 March 14, 2011 at 8:53 am #

        I am aware that Planned Parenthood does not spend their Federal Fundiing for abortions. They don’t need to, it is a major profit center for them.

        You did not answer my criqique about no pro bono abortions for low income women or the fact that Planned Parenthood focuses clinics in black neighborhoods.

        John Wilder

      • Cass March 14, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

        You are correct, I missed that. In response to your comment about the focus of Planned Parenthood clinics, they place them where there’s need. It’s not their fault that more Black women are low-income any more than it’s the fault of the Black women for being low-income. Without decent education or support, it’s hard to break out of a cycle of poverty. Planned Parenthood simply opens clinics where there is need for a low-income clinic.

        I do wish that Planned Parenthood would provide pro-bono abortions for low-income women, although they would get lambasted for that if they did. They do provide free contraceptives and reproductive health education to low-income women, as well as offer reproductive health services on a sliding scale fee. As a low-income woman, I regularly use these services and am grateful for the opportunity. By providing their services for free or low-cost, Planned Parenthood hopes to prevent abortions – pro-choice people don’t LIKE abortion.

  2. john Wilder March 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Cass I realize that you are well meaning. My fight is not with you but with Planned Parenthood. As a Christian we provide many services for free and are not lambasted for it. I would have more respect if Planned Parenthood did provide pro bono abortions for low income
    women. Instead they want us to pay for them through taxes. They are not about to give any free abortions because as I said, it is a major
    profit center for them and it has always been about the money. My point proves it. I would still not agree with abortions but would haev
    more respect for Planned Parenthood if they did provide pro bono abortions, after all it is only about a 7 minute procedure. And thanks for answering my critiques without resorting to hate speech.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • Cass March 15, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      Of course – I fully believe that political/personal issues should be discussed openly!

  3. marriagecoach1 March 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    You are the pleasant exception to the rule. Whenever I get into a discussion over a controversial topic with a liberal, inevitably they start in with the hate speech and the attempt to verbally bully me and humiliate me which does nothing to promote their cause and only makes them look bad. I can’t beleive that they don’t see this but I am talking about a lot of years of experience dealing with topics with liberals. Like I said, you are a pleasant and unexpected surprise and you are to be commended by disagreeing with me without resorting to hate speech tactics. I appreciate this more than you know.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

Leave a Reply

